The Edgar Stillman Kelley Collection

General Information
Critiques & Notes
Related Books
Edgar Stillman Kelley's critiques and lecture notes are the jewels of the Western College archival collection. These personal memoirs provide the public with a unique glimpse into Kelley's analytical observations. Critiquing the merits of both his classical and contemporary peers, Kelley remains mindful not to succumb to his own musical prejudices as he expounds on the works of such composers as Chopin and Beethoven.

In 1913 Chopin the Composer, Kelley's first published book, was well received by most music enthusiasts of the day.

"Various brilliant literary productions dealing with Poland's composer from a biographical, pianistic or esthetic standpoint have graced the tables of the music-loving world from time to time".

                          -Edgar Stillman Kelley

© Western College Memorial Archives, Miami University Libraries
Last Updated: June 30, 2015